The Year That Has Been

2004-12-31

On this last day of 2004, I wanted to make an appearance on Dairyland to show that I do in fact still function and do follow the calendar quite closely. Actually it only occurred to me yesterday that today is the big hoopla. No special plans were made, but have I ever done anything special on New Years Eve? The most special event was going to see fireworks by Prospect Park with Natalie and a random Indian guy, which shows you there�s always room for improvement.
Christmas went by in haze. My mother arrived in a decorating frenzy and left my house sparkling clean and smelling like potpourri. Bigfoot couldn�t understand the purpose of ruffles on our bed and a big fight ensued. Only days ago he received a wonderful gift from his boss in the form of termination from his job. The season of giving must have been over for that guy. I�m also walking a thin line at my job. With the season winding down, I was informed I should start looking for a new job. Nothing makes you feel more inadequate than being fired from a job, as if I didn�t feel useless enough.
So as 2004 ends, I try to look forward to 2005 in hopes that something exciting comes my way, like winning a lottery, or a purchase of a pony (the preferred mode of transport). I don�t make New Year�s Resolutions with the simple reason that I am not ready to admit what is wrong with me nor am I ready to change it either. It saves me from breaking any promises hours into the new year.