Far From It

2004-09-11

I didn�t realize what day it is till I actually looked up at our kitchen calendar. Before, you were painfully reminded weeks before this somber date came. Now it seems, it�s only a passing remembrance. I didn�t see anything on TV about it, except the history channel. The mood in this town is different as well. Maybe because it�s so far from the epicenter, you cannot feel the full extent of those events when you�re 400 miles away. But I was in that city, among those millions when it all unfolded and I can�t nor ever will describe how it all felt. 3 years later, although it felt like an eternity, everyone seems to have moved on. I didn�t lose anyone on that day and I may not know how it feels. Maybe I have no right to assume how it might feel. Still, it makes me feel uneasy to know my father is flying out of the country on this day. The fear has been instilled in us.