Buck Rogers With A Vengance

2004-09-08

I never knew I could be a slave to something till I spent those 3 weeks without TV. It wasn�t the lack of entertainment or reality shows that were slowly getting to me. It was the separation from the outside world that I couldn�t handle. I was missing out news and let�s face it, the local newspaper titled �Press Republican� isn�t only biased but very shortcoming on world events.

Today was marked on our calendars as the reunion with cable and internet. After watching the Simpson�s seasons on DVD day in and day out, I was ready to set my eyes on something else. I was so excited about the cable guy coming that I even dreamt about it (I bet he�d like to hear that) and even skipped my classes. Well, there�s more of a reason for missing them and the cable guy isn�t solely responsible for this. Either way tonight, I am finally connected to the outside world.

Tonight was also my 3 hour class that occurs every Wednesday. Art of Film used to be taught by a self proclaimed film genius for 15 years till he retired last year. The communications teacher, a self proclaimed Mormon took over. Bigfoot had her already for Public Speaking and announced that he has reasons to believe that she just might hate him.

�I did my final speech of legalization of marijuana. She didn�t share my view point.�

I think overall, Bigfoot isn�t alone in his disliking. She doesn�t seem a very good teacher. Often goes of on tangents and completely disregards other�s opinions. Such as tonight we were discussing the use of color in films and I suggested �Pleasantville�.

�Yes well that is a good movie but that�s no necessarily right.� She tells me.

If �Pleasantville� doesn�t display a good usage of colors in a movie, I don�t know what does. Half the time she doesn�t know what movies we�re talking about so she just turns the question around to us. She also doesn�t recommend seeing any movies suggested by the previous teacher. For our first viewing we watched �Unbreakable�.

There is also the one annoying kid occupying the role of a class clown, except he takes the role into depths of class idiotcy. The first day he requested from the teacher to be called �Buck Rogers� just because he thought it sounded cool. Then today he interrupted the discussion to announce that his friend�s friend has been slaughtered in Connecticut over the weekend and he thought it was very odd. Bigfoot and I just sit there and shake our heads as does the rest of the class. I figure I should be thankful that Buck Rogers disturbs my life only once a week.