The Making Of a One Woman Show

2004-07-10

I�m proud to announce that I am no longer an EBay virgin. That�s right, my first EBay-purchased product arrived today. I was always apprehensive about the whole idea of bidding cheaper prices for products. Yet the one thing I wanted usually cost up to 100 dollars in stores while on EBay I was bound to find it for much cheaper. And that one item was an acoustic guitar.

My ex-roommate who happens now to live with a bunch of guys who are starving musicians with various instruments lying around. Ever since going upstate to visit her and playing around with drums, bass and acoustic guitar, I�ve developed a musical hankering. True, I have no ability to play a note but that situation is much better compared to me holding down a beat on drums, quite a disastrous combination.

A good guitar in a store costs about 70 dollars, on EBay I found one for 4 dollars. It seemed shady at first. My initial instinct was that it was some kind of tiny guitar you would see a midget clown holding. Yet the advertisement assured me it was a �grown up� instrument. So I bid the 4 dollars and in few minutes time I won. Of course I didn�t actually pay such a miniscule fee for a perfectly normal instrument. The shipping fee was 30 dollars. Still better than paying almost $100.

It arrived today much to my anticipation. It�s somewhat smaller than what the boys from the band own but still perfectly fine. And within a matter of 20 minutes I managed to break something. As I was attempting to tune it, I strung one of the strings too tight and it broke. After much fiddling I managed to put a new string on but the tuning didn�t work out as fine. I�m planning on taking it to music shop and plead for them to tune it.

Once it stops sounding like cat�s wailing, I might take it underground and play at the local subway station for some loose change. I don�t dream big.