Here I Go On My Own

2004-07-13

The attempt to escape from the dorms began in February when a bunch of friends agreed that this coming fall we should get an apartment and live the true �college life�. In a college town such as that one it wasn�t hard to find any but mind�s kept changing and no one could give a definite answer. By April we found a student apartment in a prime downtown location. It seemed perfect yet by the time we had the leases in our hands and were ready to sign them, two of the 4 people that were to live with us backed out. Bigfoot and I were left with a 4-bedroom apartment we couldn�t afford on our own.

I turned to my ex-roommate and her friend who happened to be looking for a place too. She agreed and was ready to sign the lease when suddenly I began to have doubts myself. If we did this, I would have relied on Bigfoot for my transportation to classes. Having no car or license, the city�s transportation got me by but their idea of a mass transport is a bus that runs once every hour. Also I was apprehensive about going back to rooming with Katy. We were fine being roommates at the beginning of school but then shit hit the fan and we both realized it wasn�t meant to be. The dorms were my safety net. The dinning hall is right there providing unlimited (and most often disgusting) food. The bus stop was across the parking lot. After much stressing out I confessed to Bigfoot that maybe perhaps we should stay in the dorms. He agreed and the talk of an apartment died.

After visiting Katy few weeks ago, she mentioned she�s still looking for an apartment for fall and if I would want to give it a try again we could look together. Upon mentioning this to Bigfoot, he had a different idea. �Why not the 2 of us just get a apartment together?� It was an idea I�ve been secretly dreaming of for a while. Just the two of us living peacefully with no one and nothing to disturb us. And so the search began.

Last week we found a 1-bedroom apartment, furnished with all the utilities included in the town limits for a reasonable price. We�re now very close to signing the lease. However few problems arose. Firs the lease is for one year, such a time limit scares the life out of me. A lot can happen in a year. Second, we don�t have guaranteed jobs yet and coming up with money for the rent and food each month might prove bit difficult. Also we would have to move in quickly, which I have no problem with. Leaving Brooklyn abruptly is my dream come true but I was supposed to start a job at a midtown hotel next week, which proves to be an obstacle.

And lastly, there is a minor problem of my father absolutely disapproving of me moving in with a guy. He says unless I�m married I should not even consider it. But then again when did I ever consider my father�s opinion. It�s what my mother thinks that matters. And the story will continue to unfold.