Till Now

2003-06-23

It's been exacty 2 weeks since I have arrived to Poland and looking at those 14 days I see nothing but complete waste of time.

During the first week I was held hostage by my aunt in her house. There wasn't much to do so I made use of the heat wave passing through and tanned endlessly resulting in myself looking like a fried chicken. I also steered clear of my 10 year old cousin who has accomplished annoying me on new levels.

Week 2 was spent on the farm which isn't really a farm anymore. At 70 my grandparents are unable to keep anything alive except for few chickens. The fields of strawberries, cherries, sunflowers, cabbage, carrots and so on are now empty and it all looks like a big lawn. In the house there wasn't much activity going on either. I tried watching some tv but there are only 2 channels which sort of discourages you from any entertainment. My grandfather, being the king of all paranoia didn't help this fact either. He figures that being out in the middle of nowhere we're more prone to be hit by lighting therefor if there's a cloud, he proceeds to turn off everything that can be possibly plugged in. Another factor in my unhappiness on the farm is the fact that all those people there are my father's fan club. They praise him endlessly on how wonderful he is, how much I must love him, how good of a son he was and is. Yet I can see there are faults in that love. When no one is listening, people secretly approach me and ask me the question that has been so long avoided. "Is your father still drinking?" I stay quiet about all those time my father did me wrong. How many times he locked me out, how many times he degraded me. Everyone there is ignorant and telling my side of the story would go unheard.

After a week had enough of that place and caught a car to Lublin where I am now. It's wonderful here. I have my own room at my uncle's house and my privacy go on respected. I found an internet cafe near by. The KFC across the street is very tempting as well. My childhood friend was very welcoming and we already made plans to get a cabin on the lake and spend a weekend there. Finally something is happening.

I'm being charged for my time here so I should go. That KFC is really looking tempting now.