Drug Me Up

2003-06-06

I�ve always had this idea that I�ll die in an airplane. It�s like a bad version of the La Bamba movie. Yet I sort of figured out a way to cheat death�s plan, if there is one. I tell everyone that I�m convinced of my death in a plane simply because my theory is that if more people know the less likely it will happen. You never hear people say, �Oh we knew she would die this way, she told us,� after an accident. Before that, I always figured God wouldn�t kill a virgin but that safety net went down the drain.

So to ease my anxiety of this trip, I am going to be drugged up. Valium is the drug of choice chosen by my nurse/mother. Her boss, the doctor, suggested Xanax, which is for severe anxiety. Keeping in mind that I have a layover in Vienna, I need to be alert in order to find my second plane therefore Xanax was out of the question unless I like wandering the terminals incoherently ending up on some plane to Katmandu. Zoloft was also suggested but I pointed out that I wish to be knocked out into sleep as opposed to be put into a happy mood. After seeing what kind of piece of scrap metal will be taking me from Vienna to Krakow, I think I�ll need a combination of Valium, Xanax and Zoloft to keep me from shitting my pants.

Just looking at it I envision us crashing into the Austrian mountains. El Daddio says not to sit on the side, the plane might tip over. It�s one of his many fat jokes. Very encouraging.

So today as I was seeing Nat for the last time, I asked her to pray for me.

�I always do.� She replied. Those words calmed me better than any drug out there could.