When Couples Stop Being Polite

2004-09-13

People often say that living together is the ultimate test of a relationship. I say the true test of a relationship is my patented groin kick test. Either way, things do get testy when you are in a close proximity with a significant other for the most part of your day.

I think for the most part, we�re getting on just fine. Considering how fast we jumped into this, how little or no experience we have living on our own and how much of an irritable person I am. Sometimes I sit back and let my mind process all that has happened. This is my first real relationship but is this the normal progression that couples go through? Do they meet, become friends then lovers and then move in together to live in bliss? It seems to me like this isn�t normal, that perhaps at this pace we�ll be married in no time and marriage is certainly the last thing I�m ready for. However, I�m not regretting taking on this new phase as a couple.

There are things I�m experiencing and enjoying that I haven�t before. I love when I come home grumpy and tired, Bigfoot takes the initiative to make dinner. I love that he complements my homemaking skills that I never knew I had till recently. I love that even though he doesn�t have to wake up till 1, he still insists on bringing me to school every morning at 9 a.m. I love that when he needs my attention he calls me �Honey�.

It isn�t all peachy keen living. There traits that irk me beyond belief. Like leaving boxers on the bedroom floor, or not putting a new roll of toilet paper in the bathroom. The mistakes keep us balanced.