Lifetime Movie Of The Week

2004-09-07

Every Tuesday and Thursday, I take the bus back to the apartment instead of Bigfoot, who has an extra hour of classes, driving me.

Last Thursday I boarded the bus like any other time. Except this stout old guy took the seat next to me. I didn't care and for most of the ride I pretended he didn't exist. He began a conversation with a girl sitting across from him. During the course of it he asked if she's a redneck. When she replied no, he proudly proclaimed himself one. When she got off at the dorms, he finally shut his trap. Although only minutes later he tried talking to me by first offering me gum. I completely ignored him. When my stop came I got up as did he to let me out. I didn't pay attention to anything as I was getting off but as I was about 20 feet away from the bus I heard footsteps quickly approaching me. It was the weirdo who ran up to me and slyly asks if I want to get a slice of pizza and spend some time with him. Now this is a 40-year-old man who acquires an extremely creepy looking expression on his face. I kept on walking in silence for few more moments before I firmly said no. But he didn't stop there, he kept following me for another block. "How many classes are you think?" "Where are you from?" "Where do you live?" He kept asking a series of questions, all of which I kept ignoring. I started speeding up, hoping he'd get the point but he kept his pace alongside of me. My last option was to take out my cell phone and call my mother, maybe then he'd leave me alone. Finally about a block away from my place he let up and went his separate way.

I saw the nut head this morning and pointed him out to Katy who informed me that he too approached her and really sketched her out as well. By then I made my decision that today I'll just wait for Bigfoot so we can go home together. I fear that he just might become one of these stalkers who follow young women home and are convinced that they are their soul mates. I don�t know, maybe I�ve watched too many Lifetime movies in my heyday. Either way, it�s better to be safe than sorry.