Don't Give Up On Hope

2004-01-07

One the day of our one month anniversary, Bigfoot expressed the same fear that has been plaguing me for days now. As I was trying to help him feel better about one issue I casually asked what exactly is bothering him.

�I�m just worried that we�re going to go back to school and you�re going to feel differently about me.� He told me.

The same fear has been nagging my mind recently. The distance has suddenly begun taking its toll and as each day passes by I fear I�m losing my feelings for him. I couldn�t ease his mind that night because this is the one thing I have no control over. I told him that I share his worry and instantly he asked if my feelings did already fade. I couldn�t answer that. I�m hoping that maybe it�s a passing phase, once we see each other all doubt will fade away and things will go back to normal. Seeing as if I wasn�t going to give him a satisfying answer he decided to go to bed. And the only thing I could do is to let him go.

Next morning he wrote me this among other things.

�Nobody here compares to you. I don�t know if it�s your smile, your eyes, or just the I feel when I�m lying next to you but there�s something there that I�ve truly never felt before. And I stand by that. I know its hard for you to trust me when were so far apart but I�d walk clear across the state, even the country if I knew that it would make everything be alright. Just please don�t give up on a hope, trust in this, trust in me, and trust in us�

The only thing left for me to do is take this one day at a time. I have to stop wrecking my brain over petty stuff. Maybe it�s normal to feel this way when there�s such a distance between two people. And maybe once we�re reunited, we�ll just be stronger than ever.