Escapism

2005-11-05

My father got a job transfer and we�re moving next month. It�s a small town in the Hudson Valley, with a basic layout of strip malls, pretentious antique shops and more mullets per capita than anywhere else. I haven�t told anyone at work yet that I�m leaving, partly because I don�t want the added attention but it has to be done soon. Today alone we made a day trip to see our new apartment and my new school.
Ahh school, how I can�t live without it. I was accepted into the Veterinary Science program at the local school, quite the far cry from the previous attempt at the History major. Besides all of this I�m trying to imagine leaving Brooklyn for good. This apartment, however crappy (or good in NYC standards) has been our home for the last 8 years and to start all over is tiring. Packing and unpacking, how many times in the year must I do this?
Bigfoot was under the impression we would get back together once I moved that much closer to him. I informed him the chances of that happening are rather small. It is only then that he tells me he was arrested for possession of marijuana and was on suicide watch in jail. This guy gets into more trouble than fucking Bobby Brown and sadly, I don�t feel like being a Whitney.