The Toof Story

2005-04-20

I hate to promote any illegal activities here but in honor of April 20th (4.20) everyone is now invited to come and share a nice blunt with me, that is of course if you supply the necessary ingredients.

Aside from celebrating the drug that questions my memory, I�ve had the most physically active couple of days. On Sunday, Bigfoot and I basked in the record high temperatures while hiking one of the high peaks here in the Adirondacks. My last hike was in 1999 when I was forced into climbing some obscure mountain in the Czech Republic, I feared my limbs and the lack of activity might make this more difficult. My intuition never fails, because I knew this wasn�t going to be easy when I was already loosing my lungs somewhere at the base of the mountain. 3 hours later we miraculously reached the top where the views of the Adirondack mountains, the Green Mountains of Vermont and Lake Champlain made me forgot the horror of the climb. Life�s unfairness came back though when I realized the batteries to my camera had died therefore I cannot even show you the proof of my accomplishment. Coming down that giant put the topping on the whole experience, by the time we reached the car I was begging Bigfoot to get a crane that could lift me into the truck because my limbs were failing rapidly. A horrible pain in the knees followed for all hours of the following days but now we�re both recuperated and another hike is planned for tomorrow.

Yesterday was somewhat less of a physical activity but none the less exciting. Bigfoot had a dental emergency and no doctor in town would either take his insurance or take him in that day. His last option was to travel 2 � hours home to see his family dentist. It was about 9:30 when he woke me up, asking if I want to come, apparently unaware of how excited I already was for the prospect of a road trip. I don�t know how we pulled this off but within an hour we both managed to take separate showers, get ready (make up and all, at least for me), I even managed iron out the hair! We made into our destination with an hour to spare. Of course everyone wanted to know what emergency brought Bigfoot back. He concocted an elaborate story of a bar fight involving him and an angry mob with beer bottles which somehow managed to crack him in the teeth resulting in losing half of a tooth. Truth was he chipped the tooth while munching on popcorn, however everyone agreed, the bar story was much more exciting.

See my failed attempts to capture a north country sunset here.