Karol Wojtyla

2005-04-01

I tried writing this entry 3 times now and somehow no words can really form a picture of how I�m feeling. I knew since I was about 10 that I would be devastated if the Pope died and each time I would see him on TV I would think of this imminent occurrence and cry. True enough as I feared, I cannot pull myself together tonight as news reaches me that his health is failing rapidly. I am not crying for the leader of the Catholic people, because even as a Catholic I would probably be denounced by half of them by not regularly attending church. Pope John Paul is so much more to me, he is Karol Wojtyla a polish man who stands as a symbol of my nationality. There isn�t a polish household in the world that does not somewhere have a picture of the Pope. Ours was on the book shelve and it�s been with us since my early childhood and I always knew why he was so celebrated. If the events are traced back, it�s evident that Karol Wojtyla helped bring down Communism starting with Poland. Religion pulled the Polish people through countless wars and oppressions and to have a Polish pope to them was the ultimate sign of devotion.
I wish this would make more sense to you but I cannot express it much more than what it is. I�m just the proud Polish girl crying for her country�s dying symbol.