Now I Have An Excuse To Carry A Gun

2005-02-17

Strangely enough having Math at 8:00 in the morning seems a whole lot better than having it some time in the mid afternoon. I suppose my brain is fresh and renewed after somewhat of good night sleep. I just completed my first test of the semester, which after 2 previous times of taking the same class, I�ve gotten the first material pretty much memorized. It�s a pity of how Math and I don�t get along after certain hours of straining to understand each other. She�s just hating because she knows my heart belongs to History.
Right.
Among other unfolding events in my life, I�ve been informed that coming March 1st I�ll be unemployed seeing as the skiing season is coming to an end. Basically I�m useless working at a ski shop. I enjoy the job enormously mostly for the people I get to work with (minus the boss) so parting with everyone is harder than I imagined. Yet the employment Gods have looked down on my dilemma and seemed to give me some luck in this department because it seems I have a guaranteed job next door to the ski shop, at the gas station. I�d get paid to sit around, ring people up and drink Snapple all day. Minor draw back is the shift I am supposed to be working, from 2 p.m till midnight. Perhaps I misunderstood it. I can�t seem to fathom anyone who would work 10-hour shifts on part time status. Yet if it is true, I�ll end up making in a week what I would usually make at the ski shop in 3 weeks. Oh and I�m a bit apprehensive about closing by my lonesome self at midnight. The interviewer laughed at this apprehension. �But you�re from Brooklyn, you�re supposed to carry a gun everywhere and be fearless� She says. I�m sorry, I seem to have left my gun and my courage in the streets of the city.