The Reverse Effect Of Sleeping Pills

2004-07-28

I woke up at 6 am this morning with a dire need for Snapple. Luckily I had a spare bottle of it by my bed (yes I�m that addicted). Once I took a sip of it, the toilet suddenly began calling my name. My mother, bless her, was walking her butt off on the treadmill spotted me and decided to make conversation. I grunted and nodded, hoping to get back to bed immediately. However once back in my room I realized I could use my mother�s presence for my advantage, she could make me breakfast out of the some eggs, because that�s all we have. The more I considered this the more awake I became.

She agreed to whip up some scrambled eggs for me while I watched all the morning shows the TV had to offer. I figured by 9 I�d fall asleep. No such luck, once the house emptied I was still awake. I decided to make myself productive and head over to Lower Manhattan to get myself a certificate of residence so I can finally mail out my tuition bill. It�s amazing how empty Brooklyn is at 10 am and yet Manhattan is always buzzing with activity. There was of course a protest in front of the city hall. Bunch of cops protesting their wages. I had to shove some of them out of the way in order to get through. They marched the same direction as I did and for a while I felt as if I was protesting with them, especially when walking behind the main guy who is holding up flag and a megaphone.

As productive as I felt, the trip was a waste. The certificate must expire before I renew it and as luck would have it, I got it the day after I came back from Poland last year, which would be August 8th. So in two weeks I have to make the same trip.

All of this put me in a sour mood, so in order to perk up I decided to shop. Though not much of it can be accomplished with very limited funds. I stopped into J&R Music World and snagged up the new Taking Back Sunday CD. It was on sale for 9 bucks! How can you pass it up? And I got a free t-shirt. It�s the free things in life that excite me. Midtown�s CD was also on sale so I figured why not contribute to the music industry. It did feel odd actually buying the CD instead of burning them off the net. It�s like I�m betraying someone yet I don�t know whom.

Either way, I�m back here, still not tired. I�m waiting for Bigfoot to get off his morning shift before he goes to his other job. I did call him at 7am at work. After the initial shock that I do in fact function at such early hour, he said I made his day by calling. At least I accomplished one good thing.