How Far Is Winter?

2004-07-26

I realized that the older I got the more uneventful my summers become. I think I reached the pinnacle of excitement during the summer of 2000 when I spent 2 weeks in Naples, Italy with 9 other friends. Since then it all has been slowly dwindling down to two months of absolute nothingness and I believe this summer takes the crown of being the winner of nothing.

My daily schedule consists of waking up at 12 or 1 pm, sitting in front of the tv for hours, then perhaps retreating to my room for another nap, maybe some reading in the end and if enough time goes by I find myself sitting back here at midnight waiting for Bigfoot to bless me with his presence. My hard day ends around 4 am when I finally fall into slumber. My friends (all two of them) somehow vanished off the face of the earth. I haven�t spoken to Christina since May and Natalie works all the time. I also suspect she�s been avoiding me. After pulling an arm and a leg she finally agreed to go to the movies with me. That will probably take the prize for being the most eventful day of this month.

In attempt to speed up the time I�ve bought some sleeping pills, figuring what better way to pass the time than to sleep? Except what can I expect from over the counter pills that cost me 4 bucks? The only thing they accomplished was making me feel as if I was coming off Extacy, all disoriented, dizzy and my favorite, nauseated. All of that aside, I�ve been anxiously waiting for all of this to end. 3 months of free time is too much for me. Three more weeks and if all goes well I�ll be out of here, in hopes of never looking back at this pathetic existence.