Nice Heart You Got There

2004-07-18

My sister is studying to do ultrasound on the heart at a medical practice and each Friday she is supposed to hands on training. She needed a person to practice on and I volunteered to be her guinea pig. Of course she didn�t bother mentioning that I have to be up at 7am, lie on a hard bed for 3 hours while she probes me with some odd device and hear her complain on how bad of a patient I am. I must point out however that she needs to practice her patient relation skills because once the whole session was done my left boob was hurting beyond belief from her pressing into it with that odd machine. When her classmates did it, they were so gentle but her? No, she�s an ultrasound maniac.

The upside of the experience was being able to see my heart, still kicking like a fighter. I heard the beating, which surprising sounded like the beat to a Jay-Z song. She printed out a picture for me to keep in my wallet. It looks like a small alien inside my chest but oh how precious it is. It almost makes me not want to clog my arteries with McDonalds.