In The End, Yanni Makes It Better

2004-06-07

June 6th marks a 6-month anniversary of Bigfoot and I. My original plan was to write the story of how Bigfoot came to be the love I never knew. However the events of the night before soured my mood and prevented me from writing any fairy tales stories.

I came home at night to find my father drunk. He hasn�t really been drinking since I was 13 but there he was, sprawled out on the bed in his boxers, on the phone with some lady. He was calling her in Poland and with 6-hour time difference, it meant that over there it was 7 am. Naturally I snapped in anger and grabbed the phone from him and hung up. He was too drunk to really snap at me but there were was loud arguing and screaming. In his drunken state he was very melodramatic and when I told him I do not want to waste my breath on him anymore, he spent the next hour huffing and puffing about how ridiculous it is that his own daughter will not respect him. I�ll respect someone who is worthy of it, not some drunken buffoon.

Today he acted like nothing happened. I suspected that he would probably blame me for everything so I kept to myself all day. He offered to take me out to dinner but I declined. We have ignored each other since then.

Since waking up at 1pm today and taking another 4-hour nap later on I am pretty much guaranteed not to fall asleep till dawn. To keep myself busy I watched some good programming that PBS has to offer which at the time was the Yanni concert from Greece. The music isn�t as bad as Yanni himself who made playing the synthesizers such a dramatic affair, whipping his long locks around as if he�s playing a rock concert. Poor man lives in denial.