Scoop It Up

2004-06-02

I love the smell of rain after a warm day. The smell so enchanting that when it flows through my window it hypnotizes me into feeling happy. But then the aching in my feet return and I�m quickly done sniffing the air.

Today was my training for the �lovely� job at Haagen Dazs. I felt like a kid playing with ice cream. I was made to practice scooping different sizes. It wasn�t as easy as it had looked in the training video. As the sizes got larger, it became increasingly hard to make my 3 large scoops stand still and not topple over. With each try I was made to throw the scoops back into the container and try again which result in me melting half the ice cream flavors. It came to my attention how bad I am at any instructions. It also didn�t help that every time I scooped the ice cream I had to fight the biggest urge to taste it myself.

There are a million and one other things to do there for me which the boss dumped on in the last 20 minutes of training. From what I understand, remembering recipes is now my homework. I was so distraught when I left that place. Along with feeling inadequate, I felt discouraged and frustrated. The first thing I had to do to relax was to buy a Snapple and then call Bigfoot to whom I complained like a baby.

�You know usually after the first day people go out and buy beer.� He said to me. �But you go rushing to buy a Snapple. You�re a Snappaholic!�