Packing, Oh How I Hate Thee

2004-05-13

The first year of college is now coming to an end. Tomorrow is my last class along with the last exam and the minute I step out of that building, I am done. My parents will arrive sometime at noon and sweep me away. Till then I am left packing all the junk that I managed to accumulate over the 9 months. It�s amazing how much crap I could have fit into this room. Have I mentioned I hate packing? It puts me in the worst mood possible. Packing in a tiny room that�s filled with 90 degree heat isn�t enjoyable either. I promised the old folks that once they�ll arrive I�d be ready with my boxes. Well that isn�t happening. I have yet to pack my clothes, posters, and bed sheets, cleaning supplies, TV, laptop and the stereo. That makes you wonder, what have I packed so far then? Just books. Once everything is put away I must venture under my bed into Dust Central, to clear out the garbage. Yes, I am quite messy and damn proud of it.

Today I watched Bigfoot pack. Seeing him sweat incredible amounts made me dread my own process. However, I wish I could pack like him. His method is to simply throw all his clothes onto his bed, gather the bed sheet around them and miraculously make it into a bag to throw over the shoulder. I strongly believe my mother would have a heart attack if I ever attempted such a thing.

Do you know what I hate more than packing? Unpacking.