The Far East Is Too Far

2004-05-01

Back in the communist times, May 1st used to be work day in Poland. It was when the country celebrated the united effort of staying alive slightly above poverty line. I don�t remember much, just marching down the street and seeing a lot of red and white colors symbolizing the national flag. Now 14 years later, May 1st is when Poland joins the European Union. It may not seem all that important for those outside the country but it�s quite an event. I�ve seen the stark differences between those countries that are in the EU, how much they differ from those post communism ones. Back in 2000, as I crossed from the Czech Republic into Austria on my way to Italy it was suddenly visible how good capitalism can be. I can�t wait to see what happens to my lovely country. I bet there will be a lot more McDonalds around and with that maybe those skinny model type girls will gain some good pounds. I call that wishful thinking.

Thinking about Poland�s future, made me think about my own. For the second year in a row I am considering going to Japan to teach ESL. It�s a very appealing idea especially when you only need a college degree with any concentration. I am so immensely captivated by Japan and its culture that the proposal of housing and a good job seems doable. There are however set backs. I fear that being so far away I�ll crumble fast. There is also the small matter of me not really being a children�s person, which would make it quite hard to be a school teacher.

I suggested the whole idea to my mother today and she seemed approving of me exploring my options. �It could be a good teaching experience.� She told me. Yet later on she did suggest maybe teaching in Poland. Being that my parents bought the house I grew up in there, I already have shelter and the demand for English teachers is quite high. I could always try my hand at it for a year and if it doesn�t work out, then I�ll come back with my tail between my legs back to good old Brooklyn and scheme new plans of survival.