I Do, This Time Officially

2004-02-17

Back in June of 1999, I remember sitting in my room when my sister walked in with a piece of paper.

�I have a secret I need to share with you.� She told me. I instantly got excited. It wasn�t often that my sibling would take the time to carry on a conversation with me, much less share a secret.

�Nobody knows this. You will be the only one.� She goes on. �I married Peter last week.� She slowly handed me her marriage certificate. �We went to city hall and did it.�

Peter and her have been going out since they were both 18. I even remember the day she met him. He was working at a car wash and she was dating his friend. That�s how a long tumultuous relationship began. My sister is known for her lack of common sense, therefore the news of this drastic action only surprised me to some extent. All I asked for was not to be present when she broke the news to my parents. Few months later, on a quiet evening, as I enjoyed some quality time with my pillow, I heard the bellowing voice of my father and I knew my sister didn�t respect my wish.

The shock wore off quickly and 5 years later we all came to the conclusion that Peter is probably the best match for her. Giving birth to Gabby, you would think they have it all. Yet I always insisted that they should have a real wedding, partially because I�ve never been to one (blame the small family where no one gets married) and simply because my own wedding isn�t going to happen anytime soon. My sister always had an answer ready for this wish. �Do you have the money for it?�

Apparently someone has the money for it because only 2 days ago I was asked to be one of the bride maids for the wedding that will occur in September. Finally, not only will I get to attend a real wedding but also I�ll have the honor of part taking in one. Now my new wish is to fit into whatever dress is forced upon me.