50 Years And All I Get Is A Medal?

2004-02-09

My lovely grandparents whom I had the pleasure of spending my summer with, have recently celebrated their 50th wedding anniversary. For this, their country of Poland is awarding them with a medal and a ceremony at their local city hall. I agree with the ceremony part, but the whole medal ordeal makes it look as if they have survived warfare with outstanding results. But then again love is a battlefield.

It is however remarkable to survive living with a single person for 50 years. Not only that, they have survived with each other during the Nazi occupation, communist times and the hardship that all of this brought. Plus living in the middle of nowhere sure doesn�t make things easier. Or maybe it does, they seem to enjoy sitting by the window after dusk, discussing all the gossip from the near by town. I rather be hypnotized by the tube of boobs, or television as they call it.

50 years seems like a lot, but my parents with 26 years on their heels just might achieve it, unless of course my father decides to cheat again. As I might have mentioned before, my parents have reconciled. I don�t really know what happened. While I was still home, one morning suddenly they were being civil to each other and discussing the arrival of Bigfoot. Next thing I know there are roses in my mother�s bedroom and the promise of a flat screen TV. Personally I avoided asking questions or even discussing that matter. Knowing less will lead to less disappointment when it all goes down the hill again.