There's Still Hope For Your Daughter

2004-01-15

�You must think Bigfoot is some imaginary figure I�ve made up.� I sighed into the phone as Christina laughed on the other line. I tried my best explaining how the night of his visit turned out nothing like I planned. That after 7 hours of driving he had only 45 minutes to see me before turning right back around and heading home.

�No,� Christina assured me. �But I bet your parents do.�

If I were them, I would have good enough reasons to believe that their daughter is deranged enough to make up an imaginary boyfriend. Especially when out of nowhere they get word of the coming of this elusive boy, stirring the household up. And as they watch her leave the house at 6pm, announcing she�ll be back with him in hand, they�re more suspicious rather than disappointed to see her back at 7pm empty handed.

No one got to meet him. I would think he�s made up too. Nothing points to me having a boyfriend. The only evidence I have are the phone calls, emails, letters and a small picture but no one has seen those and I rather be called deranged than to share these with another soul.

That night as I returned home alone, I managed to grab a change of clothes and headed out again. I couldn�t bare the questioning looks from my parents. It was my fault for getting them hyped up at the idea of a male in the house, even if he is �imaginary�. I stayed out of the house for 2 days. Sleeping in different beds and eating stale food made me quickly return home only to face my worried mother.

�We just thought you were somewhere else.� She commented after explaining to her that I just simply wanted to spend time with friends. Then it hit me. My parents didn�t think I made Bigfoot up nor that I their was whacked child with no hope. They just simply didn�t believe my short mumbled story on how Bigfoot was unable to stay for more than 45 minutes in the city. They somehow got in their heads that he has been with me all along for the past 2 days and their youngest child was probably off in some hotel room with this unknown boy doing things that would make them shriek in shock.

Pshhh. I wish. Either way I didn�t set the record straight. It�s easier to swallow when your parents think of you as morally bad rather than a simple nutcase.