A Holy Snow Day

2003-12-16

Yesterday could have possible been the best Monday I�ve had in a long while. Usually Mondays are dreadful tortures of education vs. the remembrances of a bad weekend. On Sunday night it looked as if the Monday would be one of the bad ones. I had a Math test staring me in the face and it wasn�t pretty. Plus there was the minor detail of me owning 50 million essays for English. It all looked bleak but then came the storm. A lovely Nor�easter passed over us and by midnight we had two feet of snow. Being that our school is notorious for staying open even during the worst of conditions, I didn�t even bother to pray for a closing. Yet when my alarm clock rang in the morning, without even getting up I switched the TV on and right there and then a lovely message flashed before my eyes.

�All colleges in the county closed.�

Not a better day could have been picked for a snow day. Not even 4 feet of snow could have stopped us from having fun. We somehow crawled over to the dinning hall where only one cook managed to arrive. He managed well to feed all of the residents by providing grilled cheese. After lunch we grabbed some shovels and helped Jesus dig out his car. And from that little helpful act, we manage to spend the whole day with him. Maybe that�s why I considered that a good Monday.

I whipped out my camera to capture the fine moments of snow day and managed to get decent pictures of him. I joyfully pointed out to my roommate how exciting it will be to develop them. She however pointed out a small fact, �Why are you so excited about a picture of Jesus? Are you not over him?� I ignored the question and I shall ignore it here too.

A tunnel and an igloo was built behind the dorms, but when the RA�s found out people used it to smoke marijuana, everyone that came near it got written up. Not much else was left to do but jump out of windows into the snow piles. Soon threats of being written up for that surfaced too. By the evening everyone managed to gather in our room. Jesus snagged my digital and started snapping pictures of the oddest things in this room. Like a sippy cup. Or the vibrator. But the camera was turned on him and once everyone was gone and I actually uploaded the pictures and realized I finally had a decent picture of Jesus on my computer. Of course I had to share it with the lovely folks of diaryland.

Jesus� dreads are just coming in therefore his hair looks messy now all the time. And from this picture you cannot see how beautiful his eyes are. Still you get the idea of what I have been obsessing over since September. Having a picture of him is making me happier than having a picture of Bigfoot and I. Odd.

Today, we have to go back to the cruel reality of the final�s week. But have no fear, it will be over in 4 days and soon I�ll be back in Brooklyn. Where hell is still raging on.