Back From Hell

2003-11-30

This Thanksgiving should go down as the worst in recent memory. Nothing could top this. It was easier than I thought, leaving my mother back in Brooklyn as I set out back to the college. My sister is there for her and Gabby is always keeping her busy. Most of all I�m half glad not to be in that house as she breaks the news to my father.

My sister agrees with me when I say that El Daddio will not agree to the divorce. A man who has become co-dependent on his wife for his cooking, cleaning and everything else for the last 26 years will not just pick up and leave. My father especially who fears change and is as stubborn as a mule will most likely glue himself to his bed and shall refuse to leave.

Divorce was inevitable. I knew it for years but somehow refused to acknowledge it. They haven�t slept in the same bed in years. They fought constantly over money and most of all, they stopped loving each other long time ago. My mother told me few days ago that the only reason she didn�t do this before was because we were too young and growing up with a father is an important factor. Truthfully, I bet my life would be a whole lot easier without him. There were good times as well. It wasn�t all war. Maybe that�s why this is harder to bare than I thought.

I hope he lets her go though. She deserves happiness after all these years. He made his choices and now he should suffer the consequences.

Thank you all for your kind words that were sent to me. I really appreciate it. I know there are many similar cases out there. Knowing that I�m not alone helps more than enough.