Cold November Snow

2003-11-14

I enjoyed the idea of snow when it was being observed by my roommate, Bigfoot and myself through the window. We were cozily seated on the bed watching snowflakes whiz past our window. And whizzing they were, especially with 50 miles an hour winds. You would classify that as a blizzard I guess. Still it was lovely seeing snow in November for the first in my 10 years of living in the big �ol U.S of A (it�s a normal occurrence in Poland).

When the snow amounted we tried having a snowball fight but most of the time it was the wind that would knock me off my feet and send me flying into a wall. And after 15 minutes, the 10-degree wind chill made my butt feel nonexistent. I settled back under my blanket with happy thoughts, congratulation myself that I am taking this startling weather change in good manners.

Surprisingly, my mood didn�t last till the morning. Sometime during the night the power went out. I wouldn�t have noticed it if it wasn�t for the fact that my �Finding Nemo� late night movie renaissance stopped at a halt. Odd how I can fall asleep easily with that movie playing and wake up abruptly when it stops. Not much else was affected by the power. Still, it makes me wonder, if 4 inches can disrupt the energy then what happens when 8 inches fall? Cue the suspenseful music.

I braved the gale force winds to wait for my bus, which casually drove up 20 minutes late. By that time my thighs felt (and looked) like two frozen turkeys. Not many people felt the same determination as I did about getting to school. Classes were half filled and teachers lost the will to teach. That is why I�m sitting here during what is supposed to be my English class. Yet this college is notorious for staying open during the worst of all weather conditions, lucky me. In the city, an inch of snow falls, they close all schools, the shops are empty of food and everybody believes Mother Nature cast a death wish upon them.

With all of this, I am not looking forward to my doctor�s appointed which is to occur at 2 today. I rather stay in and watch people get blown off the sidewalk but the condition of my throat has gotten to a point where I could no longer swallow and walking around with a spit bucket is not my idea of fun.