14 Days Later

2003-11-10

I�m sitting here with a blank Microsoft Word page opened, trying very hard to come up with my thesis for a research paper when all these thoughts about everything but the topic came flowing through and I thought, �Hmm maybe I should write them down and post them on Diaryland so that a lucky group of 5 people, because that�s how many actually come to the diary now a days, can read it.�

An 8-page research paper, counted for 50 percent of my final grade is due in 14 days. Naturally I haven�t even begun an outline. Actually if it was up to me I�d do it the day before the due date. Yet since I have never done a paper that was more than 2 pages (high school education was very futile), I figured 2,500 words could be a very tough challenge to accomplish in a span of 24 hours. The topic was our choice, so I picked �The Cold War.� Don�t ask me why.

�Cold war, neither cold nor a war. Discuss.� And I will, for 8 pages.

Among other things that are dampening my mood is what looks to be a formation of a cold. Could it be because the temperatures haven�t been above the 40-degree mark? Oddly enough, I wear my scarf as if it was my underwear (meaning, it�s always on, not meaning I shove it down my pants) and yet it is my throat that suffers the most. And with a suffering throat I cannot verbally protest the amount of work that is building up in the next 14 days. Yet on the 15th day I shall be comfortably seated on Amtrak train heading for Penn Station, New York and if I am still breathing then it means I have seen and survived the darker side of college education.