Battling Chromosomes

2003-11-04

As I was looking through our family album, I began to wonder which of my parents left their generic mark on me that makes me special. Not special as in �Oh Joanna? She�s special� but special as in something that makes me standout, God forbid that I do. So I broke my traits down into 2 categories.

Things I inherited from my mother: nose, lips, high cheekbones, short and pudgy fingers, wide feet that are impossible for sandals, ears, constantly flushed cheeks.

Things I inherited from my father: eyes, unruly hair, height, dimples, chin, my inability to express feelings towards a loved one, my humor (we no longer share it though), stubbornness, my skillful tactic to annoy everyone for fun then become mad for no apparent reason.

Now you may think those traits aren�t inherited from parents, that it�s something that you form along with you mental development. Yet I�ve been observing my father for years and it�s very clear to me that the reason we don�t get along is because we are so much alike and everything I do is a representation of him in one way or another. Are there any personality traits that I got from my mother? No sorry, I am not a patient, kind loving woman who will put everyone ahead of herself.

One thing though, I do wish I got from my mother would be her eyes. They�re the lightest color of green and now with her all gray hair they stand out so beautifully. I have a hint of green in my own brown eyes but El Daddio�s Y chromosome won that battle.