The Mishandling Of a Broken Heart

2003-10-27

Today Bigfoot accomplished what he set out to do last night, make Lunch Nazi cry. It doesn�t take much to set off the faucet. All he did was ignore her as she spoke to him. As I sat with him eating lunch, she approached the table and began chattering away. In the span of 10 minutes, his eyesight was concentrated on a tree right outside the window and not once did he respond. She leaned towards me looking a bit discouraged and asked if he�s mad at her. I nodded quickly. Her smile fell and instantly she walked away.

After dinner as I stood with him outside while he smoked his cigarette, Jesus approached us. As he spoke to Bigfoot, I stood by the window watching the Lunch Nazi sit by her desk apparently now really distraught. She quickly caught my eyesight and naturally presumed Bigfoot is out there with me. Swinging herself off the high chair she stormed outside.

�She�s coming.� I warned him. �And she�s crying.�

Bigfoot�s eyes grew wider in fear. �I�m gone.� He set off back to the hall.

Not being able to catch him, fresh new river flowed from her eyes.

�What did I do? Why doesn�t he like me?� She wailed in tears.

I stood there rigid, trying to figure out how to comfort her. I�m not an affectionate person, especially towards people who I don�t care for.

�It will be ok.� I said flatly while patting her on the back as best as I could. Half of me wanted to show Jesus my compassionate side, though I cursed my luck for having Lunch Nazi as my showpiece. She stood there for the next few minutes, silently sobbing. I couldn�t think of any comforting words nor could I give her a reason for his actions. I simply waited till someone would notice the scene and give their compassion. And when it happened, I muttered a good bye and ran across the parking lot where Bigfoot was standing.

�Thanks for handling the situation.� He said. �Here�s something for you.� I was left with a caramel apple lollipop in my hand and a feeling that for once Bigfoot is very wrong.