We're Here. We're Queer

2003-09-06

Last night we decided to check out the local night scene. Turns out the night scene consist of one dance club that just opened recently. With strict alcohol rules, we had to have our �pick-me-up� dosage in the dorms. The club itself was all right. It�s not enjoyable though when the population of it is 95% females all vying for one lucky male. I busted out my moves but there�s only so much attention you can get while doing �the sprinkler� or �the fax machine�. So at 2am we headed for Backstreet, a local gay and lesbian bar.

My chances of meeting a guy were naturally shot down once I stepped inside but it was 100 times better than any other club. We came just in time for the drag queen contest, all the while the Coyote Ugly soundtrack was playing, complete with people dancing on the bar. While sitting there enjoying this joyous scene, in walks the most handsome man of all male species. He looked grungy but not in a dirty sense, more like �environmentally conscious� grungy. He stood by the wall and bopped his head to the music. And I thought, �Sweet, he can rock out to Lean Rimes.� Then it hit me, a cute guy in a gay bar? Can this get even more unfair? There was something about him though that was oddly straight. I just had to find out.

�Excuse me,� I found myself asking. �I was just wondering if you�re gay or straight?�

�Uhh,� I bet he gets that a lot. �I�m straight.�

�Oh! Great. I mean it�s anyone�s choice but great!�

�Yeah. I�m Matt.�

And as I opened my mouth to say my name, the lovely lesbian bouncer announced the club is closing and I found myself being dragged out by my wonderful companions. I managed to wave to the grungy Matt and wallow in my bad luck. But never fear. This town is small. I�ll find him.