Lights Out

2003-08-15

�Where were you when the lights went out?� Everyone is asking.

This is what you get when you live in New York. You just don�t get a black out. Oh no, you get the blackout of 2003 that covered 4 states and 50 million people. Truth is, it was all fine and dandy till the sun went down. Then everything turned just odd and eerie. It was pitch black, incredibly hot and somewhat amusing.

The hallway of our building was engulfed in such darkness that I have not seen before. At one point I needed to venture out in order to find my mother. I shoved some cookies into my mouth and began waving my arms around trying to feel up familiar walls, knobs and such. I tried calling out for mom but with a mouth stuffed like a hamster the only sound coming out of it was �Mouuuuuuhhhmmm�. Hearing odd noises coming from the hallway, Mom opened up the door from my sisters house and to her shock she saw a shadowy figure, with it�s hands extended reaching out for her neck as if it wanted to strangle her while omitting curious sounds. Naturally she freaked and began shrieking like a mad woman. After stepping into the candlelight and making myself clear, she quieted down a bit but still looked at me apprehensively.

With my father stuck in Manhattan for the night, the women of this household gathered forces and candles in order to make the best of this situation. But with only the radio to keep us occupied, everyone fell into slumber rather quickly. It was hard though for me to fall asleep with 88-degree air suffocating you. I stayed up for some time and stared into darkness that fell upon this city. And as you can see from this picture, instead of seeing hundreds of lights coming from the near by apartment buildings, the only thing visible that night was the moon and few brave stars that managed to shine through.

Many might complain but I�ll tell you, living in this city makes your life so much more exciting.