Mr. Softy's Little Secret

2003-06-02

The joys of living on the corner of a busy intersection are that I get to experience the car crashes quite often. I don�t actually see them; too many trees in my way but the screeching sound of metal bashing and tires breaking can wake up the dead, especially in the cemetery across the street. The thudding crash noise is often followed by stunned silence and then preceded by various honks from annoyed drivers who are being blocked by the wreckage. The crash that was heard few minutes ago is now in the honking stage. The most memorable one though was when Mr. Softy�s ice cream truck was involved. The music that is always played to attract the children suddenly stopped and I knew Mr. Softy was somehow involved then suddenly it started again only very fast. Mr. Softy was fleeing the scene!

Take the appeal of ice cream into consideration though. If I was a driver and spotted the holy truck of this cold goodness, I�d break all traffic laws just to get to it and probably that�s what happened. Poor Mr. Softy was in a wrong place at the wrong time. Shame made him flee. Shame of being so darn appealing.