Balsam

2003-03-27

About a year ago when my friends began alienating me and I was falling into the depths of depression, I decided to find myself a love interest in order to keep myself sane. I had no interest in anyone or anything but I figured having something to concentrate on maybe would give me motivation to get on with my day. So I began scouring my school for some cuties. None were found. Then one day, as I stayed after class to hear another of my teacher�s speech on how I�m going to fail the class if I don�t show up more often, next to me I noticed a guy staring at me as if I had a big old penis hanging off my forehead. I ignored him but realized that throughout the next days he would stare shamelessly. I also noticed that he wasn�t all that bad to stare back at. He had really light gray eyes that would stand out against his dark complexion. I learned that he was from Yemen, which would explain his accent. Every time he spoke in class, I would snort with laughter. Also, I have reasonable evidence to believe that he is younger than me, which just shows you how desperate I was. He would wear these sweaters that looked like something my grandma would knit if she were on crack. Figuring out his name took a bit while. First I thought it was Dessam, then Pessam, it turned out to be Bessam but that was too much to remember so I began calling him Balsam. He would try endlessly to strike up a conversation with me but I could never understand a word he said so I would smile politely and run as fast as my legs could take me. After 2 weeks though I lost interest. I was back to hating the world and being numb from the pain. One month later I stopped going to school and my Yemeni friend was forgotten.

On Thursday, as I was sitting in class staring into space, the doors open and in walks Balsam. I believe my mouth was hanging open with shock as he looked at me and smiled. It�s like having your mistake acknowledge you and enhance the pathetic status you�re already famous for. Naturally I ran out of the class as soon it was over, fearing he may approach me.

I needed a distraction in my life and he was it. Hey, I'm not proud of it but it got me through the day. I even made him a picture to express my gratitude..

Did you know Yemen is the anagram of Enemy?