Yoga- The Root Of All Hatred

2003-03-20

My yoga class is supposed to be relaxing but it just doesn't happen when Jeff is in it. I don't really know Jeff. For all I know, Jeff wouldn't even be his real name. Well then, the boy supposedly named "Jeff" is in my yoga class but I've noticed that yoga angers him. I also noticed that he has a lot of pent up anger. Yoga is what pushes him over the edge. When the times come to do our exercises, I make sure to place my mat away from him.

Part of the class is promoting mental wellness, meaning we have to socialize with other classmates to develop "well mentally". I already argued to the teacher that it's sort of late for me to develop anything well. Yet, we get class credit if she sees us playing board games and socializing. Since there is about 5 people in the class, I'm usually stuck playing games with Jeff. He gets angrier by the minute, especially during UNO. So I usually let him win. He flings the cards at me and when he wins, his face turns all red but I doubt it's from the joy. I suggested playing Connect 4. Bad idea. He took the pieces and started shoving them down the holes and when the anger rose, his finger started shaking and the pieces started flying all over. It's a scary sight. I was about to ask him why is he so angry, but I fear I may trigger something. Who knows, he may attack me with the chess pieces.

When yoga time finally comes around, you would think he would relax but obviously all that stretching and deep breathing just irritates him. He keeps shooting angry glares at the teacher who is oblivious to it all. I fear for her life now. When the time is up, he gets his jacket and book bag and storms out of the gym.

And I wonder, what does he have against yoga?