Where Did You Come From?

2003-03-15

Back in the summer I was cleaning out my school stuff and found a notebook. In the back there was a poem written in my handwriting, though I do not know how it got there or why I wrote it down. To this day I'm still trying to figure this mystery out.

They are sure that sudden feeling united them. Beautiful is such certainty but uncertainty is more beautiful.

They think that as they didn't know each other earlier, nothing ever happened between them. But what would they say, those streets, stairways and corridors where they could have been passing each other for a long time?

I would like to ask them, don't you remember maybe face to face once in a revolving door?

An "excuse me" in a tight crowd? a "wrong number" heard over the phone?

But I know their answer. No they don�t remember.

They would be quite surprised that for a long time chance had been toying with them. Not altogether ready to turn their fate, it would draw them together, pull them apart, cut them off on their path and swallowing a giggle leap to the side.

So there were signs, signals so what? They were unreadable.

Maybe 3 years ago or last Thursday some leaf flew from arm to arm?

Something got lost and then got picked up. There were doorknobs and doorbells where touch lay on touch beforehand. Suitcases next to one another in the baggage check. Maybe one night some dream blurred upon awakening.