Snow & Beauty Queens AKA Mid Winter Recess

2003-02-21

I would apologize for my lack of entries but since no one reads this diary then I'd be apologizing to myself and that would be sort of sad. Sad and pathetic. Yep, that's me!

I had a 2 weeks of vacation then a week of school and now another week of vacation. I shouldn't be complaining but really, waking up religiously at 11 to watch The View is starting to become a freighting habit. During the weeks of vacation there isn't usually anything to talk about. There was that little snowstorm. What was it called? Blizzard of 2003? Yeah, 2 feet of snow is now turning into a lovely river on my street. The worst thing about it was having every channel broadcast it's news coverage of the snowstorm. So as you're stuck at home, you have to watch them tell you that another inch has fallen in the last 5 minutes.

During the whole ordeal, I was informed that my childhood friend from Poland won a beauty pageant. She's now Miss Lublin 2003. Next step is Miss Polonia which is basically like Miss America. My father found about the whole thing on the internet and I had to check it out myself. In the interview it says that she's going in major in Law. They also mention the soccer team that her, another friend and I used to belong to. If anyone deserves to win it would be her. She was always such a sweet person, which was always what bugged me about her. 3 years ago we spent the summer in the Czech Republic. One night we had a tell-all session. From the things I heard, it made me look at her in a different light. Not as the person who has the perfect life but as a girl struggling to match her image.

She sent me a postcard few weeks ago asking why I'm not writing to her. Now I got to write back and yell at her for cutting her long hair and making it blond. And of course congratulate her.