Wassssssaaaabiiii

2003-01-25

Due to my non-existant social life, I spent my Friday night channel surfing. It wasn't all that bad. I actually came across a fabulous TV program. A Japanese soap opera titled "First Love". Thank God for the subtitles, other wise I wouldn't be here talking about it. So from the two episodes that I've seen this is what I've gathered. A young girl recently graduated from high school bumps into her ex teacher whom she kissed few years back. She realizes she's still madly in love with him except he is engaged to her sister. He also realizes he has feelings for her, but that matter is still iffy. So he tells her for the good of her sister (who starts to realize the way those two look at each other) that they can't see each other. The young girl's classmate who was also a student of the teacher is in love with her. To get over the teacher she kisses him but during the same night she goes to the teacher's house. They stand outside for 5 minutes staring at each other. You know how soaps are, at the same time her sister is on her way to his house as well. Will the teacher kiss his student again? Will the sister see the kiss? Will the young girl pick the much cuter classmate? Find out in the next episode of "First Love".

Yep, can't wait till next Friday.

Another thing that I found fascinating were the music videos that followed the program. At first I was confused, cause they started to play this video with some nice looking boys in it and I thought they were singing in Spanish. I took me a bit to realize that I am witnessing my first Japanese rock/rap video. They were rapping in Japanese! But it was also confusing cause some words were in English so it was like "blah blah blah world blah blah blah kill" The guys were all thugged out and shit. God I love Japanese people, they're so versatile.

Nights like these give me a craving for sushi.