Pickleland Hall

2003-01-22

My involuntary conversation with Grandma happened yesterday. I avoid any conversations on the phone with the family for the simple reason that my broken Polish is very hard to fathom for them. So I stutter and fumble with words when wishing her happy "Grandma Day". Yes they have those over there. Besides that she starts calling me all the names she made up for me when I was little. Her little dollar, she little daisy, her little sunshine and so on and on. Then Grandpa comes on and the whole process is repeated. He asks me though when is he going to see me again.

"When your son will pay for my ticket, I shall come" I told him.

Actually a day doesn't go by when I don't think of spending my summer with the old folks. I believe it's an unspoken agreement in the house that if I don't go to Poland this summer, I'll have a mental breakdown. I made it known. By March we'll know who will shell out for the ticket. I'm supposed to be saving money for college except I hardly have a dollar for myself and my lunch. What is there to save?

Speaking of college, I called them today. They received my housing contract. I should be getting something in the mail soon. Natalie got hers already. Supposedly our room number is 328 in the Cumberland Hall. I call it cucumber land and I fear the name will stick for the duration of my stay there.

Better yet, the name pickle land makes me want to move even more.

Excited? You betcha.